Awards 2003-2009

(Go to more recent awards)

Hardest Worker

Swimmer has displayed the maximum effort in practice and competition, regardless of results.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
6 & Under
Ryan York, Lucy West
Alec Wage, Emma Day
Jonathan Day, Emma Day
Nolan Kataoka, Quinn O’Connor
Rob Meyer, Kaleigh Day
Paul Kinsella, Clare McNamara
Maria Polise & Alec Blagg
Sam Gonson & Michaela Morrison
Brady Almand, Jordan Grimaldi
Rob Meyer, Sophie Currie
David Emson, Megan Day
Alex Place, Olivia Weltz
Sarah Dickson, Aidan Tai
Jordan Grimaldi & Thomas O’Shaughnessy
Sean Coleman & Lauren Allard
James Carroll, Isabelle Pasternak
David Emson, Bridget Condron
Christopher Clements, Alex Place, Liana Tai
Bryan Kress, Molly Merkel, Emma Leheney
Kaleigh Day, Sean Coleman, Remy Kyle
Grace Greenwood & Joaquin Friedman
Alex Place, Mary O’Connor & Rebecca Horner
Liana Tai, Andrew Kress
Matthew Essig, Emma Leheney
Jonathan Cox, Emma Leheney, Katie Gentsch
Tyler Gehrs, Jessica Meyer, Sarah DiNardo
Izzy Pasternak, Katherine Kocher, David Emson
Bridget Condron & Christopher Clements
Matthew Essig & Emily Blagg
Jonathan Cox, Molly Merkel
Tyler Gehrs, Austin Gallagher
David Cox, Tyler Gehrs, Emily Sajewski
Max Duncan, Greg Benson, Julianne Nava, Katherine Davis
Liana Tai
Austin Gallagher & Bryan Kress
Matt Kress & Samantha Zito
Matt Kress, Emily Sajewski
Max Duncan, Caitlin Ham
Greg Benson, Genna Beier
Tom Kress, Genna Beier, Sarah Sajewski

Toughest Age Group

The particular age group that has practiced and performed fearlessly, without complaints that practice was “too hard” or “I don’t like freestyle” while encouraging each other. This age group welcomed hard work and/or rebounded from tough setbacks.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
11-12 girls,
11-12 boys
8 & Under Boys,
11-12 Girls
8 & Under Boys,
9-10 Girls
9-10 Girls,
9-10 Boys
8 & Under Boys,
8 & Under Girls
9-10 Girls,
15-18 Boys
9-10 Girls

Joe Adams Award

Award to the swimmers whose performances at Monday night meets showed the most outstanding improvement.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
Jonathan Cox, Hayes O’Connor, Jason Henley, Marie O’Shaughnessy, William Sullivan, Lindsey Wilkin, Andrew Cabalu, Leelee Kopca, Tommy Shipley, Ella Gustafson
Sarah Dickson, Hannah Heidrich, Rachel Sutherland, Connor Byrne, Madeline Hans, Jessica Horner, Jay Maddox, Kayle Park & Mary Kate Reicherter.
Lucy Shoemaker, Amelia Johnston, Alec Blagg & Jay Maddox
Katherine Kocher, Sarah Dickson, Benjamin Names, Sean Coleman
Mary Jean Harford, Matt Kress
Jimmy Linek, Connor Currie, Kayla Rusby-Wood, Jillian Hornburg
Ellie Ellison, Natalie Ryan, Christopher Clements, Ben Names


Winner is either a first time Saturday morning competitor and/or a new member of Overlee Swimming who has made the statement; “I am here,” by practice attendance and effort, meet performance and sportsmanship.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
The Kinsella Family: Katie Kinsella, Clare Kinsella, Paul Kinsella
Nick Morales & Ellie Ridgeway
Nicholas Pasternak & Sarah Dickson
Nathan Abraham, Torey Ortmayer
Sean Coleman, Rachel Robertson
Sean Bailey, Isabelle Pasternak
Scott Benoit

The Performer

Swimmer demonstrated awesome prowess and/or resilience in critical meet situations.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
Anna Polise
Suzanne Dolan, Torey Ortmayer & Nicholas Pasternak
Scott Benoit  & Molly Merkel
Abigail Ortmayer, Tyler Gehrs
Molly Merkel
Rafi Swann, Laura Rainey
Kevin Yost, Ellis Beier

Howard Pennifill

Traditionally given to 13 & overs (one per gender) who have been complete Overlee swimmers; athlete has been a leader by actions in practice, meets, pep rallies, support of younger swimmers, responsible behavior in and around the Overlee community and a long-term and summer-long dedication to the team. This award is not automatically given each summer – it must be earned. Winner’s names are engraved on a plaque in the front lobby.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
Tyler Gehrs, Sarah DiNardo
No recipient
Tyler Gehrs & Emily Sajewski
Caitlin Ham, Andrew Kane
Tom Kress, Ellis Beier
Tom Kress, Brittany Boden
Kevin Yost, Brittany Boden

Baxter Smith

One award per gender (12 & under award): athlete has given selflessly his/her time, effort and energy to the Team while leading by example in practice, competition (effort), cheering and enthusiasm, relationships with other teammates and behavior in and around the Overlee community.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
Megan Day, Kayla Rusby Wood
Rachel Robertson & Sean Coleman
Isabelle Pasternak
Katie Bennett, Christopher Clements
Odile Carroll, Emma Petree, Kate Mountain
Sam Burton, Austin Gallagher
Will Angle, Virginia Shutler


Athlete that has shown a wholehearted interest in swimmers younger than themselves and demonstrated to their younger teammates the virtues of sportsmanship, teamwork, hard work, persistence and respect.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
Emily Sajewski
Samantha Zito, Sarah Dinardo, Emily Sajewski, Libby Kane
Torey Ortmayer & Libby Kane
Austin Gallagher, Kaitlin Wolla
Rafi Swann, Kristen Wolla
Andrew Kane, Ellis Beier
Brian Yost

Charles Thompson Memorial Award

One award per gender per 12 & Unders and per 13 & Overs: swimmer used creative energy to psyche-up, encourage, focus or lift the spirits of teammates.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003
Patrick Shipley, Libby Kane
James Mountain, Patrick Shipley, Will Angle, Stephanie Hitchcock, Tyler Gehrs
Patrick Shipley, Ethan Hitchcock & Allison Ham
Andrew Loranger, Katy Meyer, Samuel Burton, Devin Coleman-Houff
Max Denney, Stephanie Hitchcock, Sam Burton, Libby Kane
Andrew Richards, Libby Kane, Matt Merkel, Brian Yost, Julia Gick
Sam Burton, Stephanie Hitchcock, Paul Duncan, Julia Gick

Coach’s Awards

The Assistant coaches will choose one boy and one girl from each age group who best exemplifies the spirit of Monday Night meets and Overlee swimming – participation, commitment, fun, sportsmanship, courage, and self-determination.

2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004
6 & Under
Tate Rusby-Wood, Megan Mullins
Aidan Tai, Allison Loranger
Russ Kocher, Jordan Grimaldi
8 & Under
Tate Rusby Wood, Maggie Shipley
Olivia Greenwood & Thomas Shoemaker
Tate Rusby-Wood & Anna Polise
Drew Maddox, Mackenzie Collins
Christopher Blagg, Beth Gentsch
Sean Coleman, Kaleigh Day
Nick Pasternak, Michaela Morrison
Kelly Emson & Austin Park
Cristopher Blagg & Jordan Grimaldi
Jack Schrider, Mariah Bowman
Jason Henley
Jacob Heidig, Katherine Kocher, Bridget Condron
Suzanne Dolan, Ryan Baker
Alex Ellison, Joe Rentner
Michael Mullins, Caroline Meyer
Conor Collins, Emily Bragg
Brian Kress
Collin Condron, Ellie Ellison
Katie Bennett, Jack Schrider
Helena Nickolakes, Katherine Kocher & Conor Collins
Maryjean Harford
Collin Condron, Rachel Locke
Thomas Schwarz
Max Duncan, Sarah DiNardo
Kaitlin Wolla, Bryan Kress
Molly Merkel & Collin Condron
Collin Condron, Emily Sajewski & Allison Fosteri
David Cox, Sarah Swjewski
Andrew Kane
Scott Frantz, Katherine Davis

Flying Fish Award

One award given to 13 & overs: this swimmer demonstrates an overall leadership role on the team.

2008 2007 2006
Ryan Shipley
Kristen Wolla
Scott Frantz

Megaphone Award

Swimmers demonstrating excellent technique in practice and meet situations.

2008 2007
Annemarie Wamsted, Isabella Lee, Rachel Robertson & Jack Schrider
Megan Day, Alex Ellison, Sophie Bennet & Kayla Rusby-Wood

Special Awards

Hammer Award2007: Suzanne Dolan & Timothy Aldinger
The Competitor, 2008: Isabelle Pasternak & David Emson

Print Friendly, PDF & Email